Online Library of Liberty

A collection of scholarly works about individual liberty and free markets. A project of Liberty Fund, Inc.

Advanced Search

James M. Buchanan


1919 - 2013


Historical Period:
The 20th Century and Beyond


In 1986 James M. Buchanan (1919-) was awarded the Alfred Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences. Universally respected as one of the founders of the “public choice” school of economics, he is the author of numerous books and hundreds of articles in the areas of public finance, public choice, constitutional economics and economic philosophy. He is best known for such works as The Calculus of Consent, The Limits of Liberty, The Power to Tax, and The Reason of Rules. Buchanan has devoted himself to the study of the contractural and constitutional basis for the theory of economic and political decision making.

See the Liberty Matters online discussion of James Buchanan: An Assessment.

See also at our sister website Econlib:

  • the Concise Encyclopedia of Economics entry on Buchanan



View All People