Chronology: the English Revolution

Related Links:

Source: The Struggle for Sovereignty: Seventeenth-Century English Political Tracts, 2 vols, ed. Joyce Lee Malcolm (Indianapolis: Liberty Fund, 1999). Vol. 1.

Copyright: The copyright to this edition, in both print and electronic forms, is held by Liberty Fund, Inc.

Fair Use: This material is put online to further the educational goals of Liberty Fund, Inc. Unless otherwise stated in the Copyright Information section above, this material may be used freely for educational and academic purposes. It may not be used in any way for profit.


1603 Accession of James I (King James VI of Scotland).
1604 Hampton Court Conference.
1605 Gunpowder Plot.
1618 Outbreak of Thirty Years War.
1625 Death of James I; accession of Charles I.
1627 Five Knights’ Case.
1628 Parliament meets. Petition of Right.
1629 England begins eleven-year period without a parliament.
1633 Appointment of Archbishop Laud.
1634 First levy of ship money.
1637 King wins Ship Money Case, 7 judges for, 5 against.
1638 Scottish National Covenant.
1639 First Bishops’ War.
1640 Short Parliament meets in April. Long Parliament meets in November.
1641 Uprising in Ireland, massacre of Protestants.
1642 Outbreak of civil war.
1643 Solemn League and Covenant. Scots enter war in England.
1645 New Model Army created.
1646 Charles surrenders.
1647 Charles captured by army. Army debates at Putney.
1648 Second civil war. Pride’s Purge.
1649 Charles tried and executed. Monarchy and House of Lords abolished. England declared a commonwealth.
1650 Engagement Oath required. Charles II and Scots defeated at Dunbar.
1651 Charles II and Scots defeated at Worcester. Charles flees to France.
1653 Cromwell expels the Rump Parliament. Instrument of Government drawn up. Cromwell becomes Lord Protector.
1654 First Protectorate Parliament.
1655 Penruddock’s uprising.
1656 Rule of Major Generals. Second Protectorate Parliament.
1657 Cromwell refuses crown.
1658 Cromwell dies. Richard Cromwell becomes Protector.
1659 Richard Cromwell resigns. Rump Parliament recalled. George Monck marches with army to London.
1660 Long Parliament recalled. Convention Parliament summoned. Charles II invited back. Monarchy restored. Trial of regicides.
1661 Cavalier parliament meets. Passage Militia Act, Corporation Act.
1662 Passage Uniformity Act. Trial of Sir Henry Vane.
1670 Secret Treaty between Charles II and Louis XIV.
1672 Charles issues Declaration of Indulgence.
1673 Test Act.
1678 Second Test Act.
1680 Exclusion Bill introduced.
1683 Rye House Plot. Trial of William Lord Russell, Algernon Sidney. Oxford decrees condemn all resistance.
1685 Charles II dies. Accession of James II.
1687 James II issues Declaration of Indulgence.
1688 Seven Bishops Trial. Arrival of William of Orange. Glorious Revolution.
1689 Convention Parliament meets. Bill of Rights. Accession of William and Mary.